Skip to content

Lesson 8-Knowing and Praying God’s Word

12/03/2009
by

Hello, dear Mommas!  I hope you are treasuring this sweet season of our Savior’s birth.  Two nights ago, my daughter was playing with one of several nativity scenes we have around the house.  She told me that she was singing to the Baby Jesus.  What precious opportunities this season offers us to share with our children about God’s divine plan and his love for each one of us!  Don’t let the hustle and bustle of the coming weeks to distract you from the spending time in God’s word and prayer.  Maybe even sing a song to Baby Jesus! 

Wow!  I just want to tear this whole week’s lesson out of my notebook and paste it around my house, maybe in the kitchen or the bathroom mirror.  It’s like the Momma’s Handbook, and I was blessed upon reading each lesson. 

What really stood out to me this week was the importance of knowing God’s Word and praying God’s Word.  The Lord’s challenge to me during this entire study has been to memorize more of His Word.  I’ve purchased a spiral-bound set of notecards in an effort to document those verses I’m learning and to keep them on hand for constant review. 

So, why is this such an important part of the Christian life? Well, as we learned this week, God’s Word is essential for training and disciplining our children.  How can we “bring them up with the discipline and instruction approved by the Lord” (Eph. 6:4) if we do know what forms of discipline and instruction the Lord has approved.  As we learned on Day 2, the book of Proverbs provides guideline after guideline showing us God’s design for raising up our children in the way he or she should go. 

Knowing God’s Word also helps us as we battle “not against flesh and blood” (Eph. 6:12) but against Satan, the ultimate deceiver. As we learned, evil desires lead to evil actions and evil actions lead to death (James 1:14-15).  By hiding the Word of God in our heart, we are more readily equipped to recognize those early sin thoughts and bring them captive to the obedience of Christ. 

Finally, I loved Jean’s title for Day 5, “Don’t Just Stand There; Pray Something.”  Philippians 4:6-7 are two of my favorite versus, actually some of the first scriptures I committed to memory early in my Christian walk.  So, why are they so hard to implement sometimes?  As I read these verses again in this week’s study, a washing of the Lord’s peace came over me as I was reminded that we truly can go to him with anything, and as a result He promises that perfect peace that passes all understanding.  So, let’s do it! Let’s pray about anything.  Let’s pray without ceasing (1 Thess. 5:17).  And let’s be found faithful to pray for our husbands, our children and ourselves.  Draw near to God and He’ll draw near to you (James 4:8). 

Blessings and joy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

